Sede Vacante

The light is on but no one is home.

There are no windmills in Vietnam


So why VN?  Hahah… it’s business. Or in my case, pride. I’m not stuck here because of a sense of duty or a desire to keep my job. I really do want to see this company fly. Failure blows, and so long as there is someone willing to keep trying, I’m staying. It’s just sad that we made so many mistakes along the way with these guys.

Hubris only gets your foot in the door. At the end of the day, the mess here in VN is as much our fault as theirs. We went in guns blazing with no real understanding of the market and the conditions, and let our optimism overtake our ability to judge soundly and manage this company. We oversold ourselves and the product in the pursuit of valuation, and in the end got oversold ourselves on the ability of this company to market and operate a game.

I’m not really too worried about all this valuation stuff.  I never really believed in any of this stock market crap. At least not in the Philippines, in any case.   I’m an old fashioned entrepreneur. Make a good product, be sensitive to your customers, use sound business practices and try to run an efficient operation; after that the value of the company will follow.

Disillusioned? Who wouldn’t be? I’ve always found the notion of tilting at windmills rather romantic and inspiring. But the magic fades when you wake up to see the windmill for what it is and instead find yourself simply trying to convince everyone else of the the existence of a giant you can’t really see.

Thankfully, I have the best antidote to disillusionment: DELUSION. Yes, I’m deluded. I think this company can fly. I just need a better product, a little more time, and a ton of money.

In any case, it’s not so bad here. What’s the worst that could happen? This company folds and I get to go home. So there’s not really much I’m afraid of. But the possibilities… ah yes. It takes a particular brand of madness to try to build something from nothing. And if anything, I think that’s something we have in spades over here.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

